በቀለ ገርባ ስለሰላማዊ ትግል አብዝቶ ያወራል

Image

እሁድ ጠዋትን በዝዋይ ማረሚያ ቤት — በቀለ ገርባን አገኘነው።

 

የዞን ዘጠኝ አባላትና ወዳጆቻችን ደርዘን ሆነን ዛሬ (ሰኔ 30/2013) ወደዝዋይ የተዛወሩ እስረኞችን ለመጠየቅ ሄድን።

በመጀመሪያ ያገኘነው በቀለ ገርባን ነበር። መልከ መልካሙ በቀለ አውርተው የሚጠግቡት ዓይነት ሰው እንደሆነ ለማወቅ ሄዶ ማየት ያስፈልጋል። ከእሱጋ ስናወራ ከሌሎችጋ ለመገናኘት ያቀድንበት ሰዓት እስከሚጣበብ ድረስ ዘግይተናል። 

በቀለ ገርባ ስለሰላማዊ ትግል አብዝቶ ያወራል። ከ32 እስረኞችጋ አንድ ቦታ እንደታሰረ እና በተንጣለለው የዝዋይ ማረሚያ ቤት ግቢ ውስጥ በተለይ እነሱ በአንዲት ውሱን፣ በተለምዶ ጨለማ ቤት የሚባለው ክፍል ውስጥ እንዳለ አጫውቶናል። (እዚህ ቦታ በግንቦት ሰባትነት ክስ የተፈረደባቸው ጄነራሎችና በነአንዱአለም አራጌ መዝገብ የተከሰሱት እዚሁ ይኖራሉ) ሆኖም ከቃሊቲ አንፃር ሲታይ ዝዋይ በጣም የተሻለ ምቹ እና ሠላማዊ እንደሆነ፤ ሌላው ቀርቶ ለሕክምና አዲስ አበባ መዛወር ኖሮበት ይቅርብኝ እንዳለ ጨምሮ ነግሮኛል።

በቀለ አሁን ከእስር ለመፈታት አመክሮው ተቀንሶ 2 ዓመት ከአራት ወር ከዘጠኝ ቀን ነውም ብሎናል። በእስሩ ወቅት የኢትዮጵያ ሕዝብ በጣም ድጋፍ እያደረገለት በመሆኑ እንደሚበረታና አሁንም ወደፊትም ብቸኛው የለውጥ መንገድ ሠላማዊ ትግል መሆኑን ለሕዝብ በምታስተላልፉት መልዕክት ላይ አስፍሩልኝ ብሎናል። በፍርድ ቤቱ የመጨረሻ ቅጣት ማቅለያ ንግግሩን አስመልክቶ ስንጠይቀው ለማለት ብቻ ሳይሆን የማምንበት የሕይወት ፍልስፍናዬ ነው ሲል ነግሮኛል። 

ከዚያ በኋላ ጋዜጠኛ ውብሸት፣ ናትናኤል፣ ዘሪሁንን እና አበበ ቀስቶን አግኝተን አነጋግረናቸው በጥንካሬያቸው ተበራትተናል።

Sign this petition to thank AlJazeera’s Stream

The habeshas are not afraid of Oromo but Oromumma

I have come across in an architectural forum, this time the discussion was on the new Ethiopian federal parliament building. The architect firm who design the building has put a drum(negarite) as a symbol about the development of democracy in the Ethiopian empire, but one of the forum member did not understand the relationship between a drum which is used by the feudal system to declare inhuman laws and judgment by the feudal lord to democracy. Therefore he comment as follows:
usOcOOb

I don’t see the relationship between drums and democracy but there can be a good idea to implement in this design ‘odaa shanee’ the five odaa trees the symbol of the most democratic social system the world come to know, “the Gadaa” system. And when I see those design they look like odaa tree.

After that the back and fourth has begin, for me this back and fourth have explained one big thing in the Habesha politics. The habeshas are not afraid of the oromos for the sake of saying but Oromumma. They are more worried about the expansion of oromo values to the world and beyond the borders, therefore they are willing to say every word to silence those suggesting something that could promote the oromo value. For my readers I have put the raw back and fourth for you to read and understand.

I don’t see the relationship between drums and democracy but there can be a good idea to implement in this design ‘odaa shanee’ the five odaa trees the symbol of the most democratic social system the world come to know ‘the Gadaa system. 

And when I see those design they look like more like odaa tree.

I think the drum idea is pretty cool. It’s based on the Negarit drums used by Ethiopian emperors to announce new laws of the land. The Ethiopian Parliament pretty much does the same thing now, it legislates. So that’s a cool parallel there …

I think he’s saying he does not understand the association of the drums with democracy, as stated in its description. An emperor’s decree is hardly what anyone would characterize as democratic.

thank you very much Hersh, u read my lips 

what I want to say is if the democracy we all aspire for has to be rooted into the history and culture of our society then the only example we could extract from our past history that has democratic value is the “Gada System”. symbolically it will be more meaningful to use ODA tree than drum or whatever, sorry am not going for the fools cool BTW. 

It makes it more representative as this system has been practiced by gediyo, konso and so many other ethnic group in the south in addition to the Oromos.

and also if such cultural and historical values of the so called oppressed people are included in the socio-economical institution of the ethiopian empire at least symbolically rather than this idiotic assumption of we are one people have one culture and one history then we the oromos wouldn’t be tongue tighten to call our self ethiopian.

There is nothing in the idea of ethiopia, I and most oromos associate with for GOD sake just saying

The emperor used to have the drums beaten, it’s now the people doing that. I think the main thing here is the symbolism and link to the past. Call it adaptive symbolism. Democracy is a new thing in Ethiopia, and we’re still struggling with it. And no need to call my view ‘fool’s cool’. The drum is a highly symbolic instrument in Ethiopia … just think a little deeper about the whole issue.

Yes, symbols evolve, and the iconic drums capture the country’s evolution from empire to republic in a meaningful way.

thank you very much Hersh, u read my lips 

what I want to say is if the democracy we all aspire for has to be rooted into the history and culture of our society then the only example we could extract from our past history that has democratic value is the “Gada System”. symbolically it will be more meaningful to use ODA tree than drum or whatever, sorry am not going for the fools cool BTW. 

It makes it more representative as this system has been practiced by gediyo, konso and so many other ethnic group in the south in addition to the Oromos.

and also if such cultural and historical values of the so called oppressed people are included in the socio-economical institution of the ethiopian empire at least symbolically rather than this idiotic assumption of we are one people have one culture and one history then we the oromos wouldn’t be tongue tighten to call our self ethiopian.

There is nothing in the idea of ethiopia, I and most oromos associate with for GOD sake just saying

This is a destructive form of ethnocentrism, one that will not lead to any positive results.

If I may interject, what about what he said is narrow minded or ethnocentric? Isn’t the unilateral proliferation of a single culture/history/identity as a unifying symbolism against the the broad collective of multicultural identities itself ethnocentric? In fact, such are the attributes of what have traditionally been considered chauvinistic, imperialistic even. This whole attitude of collectively trying to silence any dissenting voices against your preferred idea of the Ethiopian identity is something that should trouble you if you care about preserving this arrangement. 

What’s the difference between an emperor’s drum and a symbolic tree that one should be lauded as being culturally relevant and the other derided as being destructively ethnocentric?

The emperor used to have the drums beaten, it’s now the people doing that. I think the main thing here is the symbolism and link to the past. Call it adaptive symbolism. Democracy is a new thing in Ethiopia, and we’re still struggling with it. And no need to call my view ‘fool’s cool’. The drum is a highly symbolic instrument in Ethiopia … just think a little deeper about the whole issue.

Perhaps you should “think a little deeper” about the highlighted parts. Once you’ve done that, maybe you can humor us with what you think one might find problematic about those statements; if you don’t mind, that is.

I know you and others here probably mean well, but the sorts of things you say are really telling.

Perhaps you should “think a little deeper” about the highlighted parts. Once you’ve done that, maybe you can humor us with what you think one might find problematic about those statements; if you don’t mind, that is.

I know you and others here probably mean well, but the sorts of things you say are really telling.

I see that you’ve highlighted all my references to Ethiopia and its history. I guess what you want me to say is that Ethiopia’s history, or the part that I’ve referred to, only applies to Amharas and Tigres. That’s a version of Ethiopian history that I keep hearing, especially among Oromos in the diaspora. My friend, you can create whatever history suits you. The reality is Ethiopia’s history is a complex one, and cannot be labeled as the Amhara’s history, the Oromo’s history, the Tigre’s history etc. The interaction between the different groups in Ethiopia goes back hundreds, thousands of years. So if you’d like to simplify it and say the Negarit belongs to the Amhara only, and not to the Oromos, you can go ahead and do that. But that is a narrow minded way of looking at a complex situation. The oromos, the amharas, the afars, the somalis, have been interacting in the region for thousands of years. Some people prefer to focus on what divides these people, others (like me) would like to focus on what unites us. And this parliament building is something that creates a unifying symbol for the people of Ethiopia. I do not care where that symbol comes from, as long as it’s one that creates a positive unifying feeling.

You’ve also highlighted the part that says ‘democracy is a new thing to Ethiopia’. Isn’t it? Or should we say that since the Borena Oromo use the Geda system (at best an imperfect electoral system) to elect their leaders, then the system used by this small group somehow represents the entirety of the Ethiopian people. Obviously, Ethiopians do not understand the basic concepts of democracy, and we see the result of that daily. Everybody in Ethiopia is struggling with the idea of democracy, including the Oromos. We do not see the Oromia region behaving any differently when it comes to this.

I see that you’ve highlighted all my references to Ethiopia and its history. I guess what you want me to say is that Ethiopia’s history, or the part that I’ve referred to, only applies to Amharas and Tigres. That’s a version of Ethiopian history that I keep hearing, especially among Oromos in the diaspora. My friend, you can create whatever history suits you. The reality is Ethiopia’s history is a complex one, and cannot be labeled as the Amhara’s history, the Oromo’s history, the Tigre’s history etc. The interaction between the different groups in Ethiopia goes back hundreds, thousands of years. So if you’d like to simplify it and say the Negarit belongs to the Amhara only, and not to the Oromos, you can go ahead and do that. But that is a narrow minded way of looking at a complex situation. The oromos, the amharas, the afars, the somalis, have been interacting in the region for thousands of years. Some people prefer to focus on what divides these people, others (like me) would like to focus on what unites us. And this parliament building is something that creates a unifying symbol for the people of Ethiopia. I do not care where that symbol comes from, as long as it’s one that creates a positive unifying feeling.

Your opinion on these matters is noted. Though the tangent you went off on wasn’t at all where I was trying to direct you. It does reveal a certain level of inherent bias but I understand it is probably due to your acclimation with these opinions that you assumed those were the views that I personally espouse. They are not.

The parts I highlighted were meant to point out the seemingly irrevocable singularity of your views. You hold a view of Ethiopian history which seems to unreservedly belie the plurality of its origins. Pointing out the narrowness of this view is not a matter of rewriting history as you’d like to frame it. This is about recognizing the collective essence of our identities. This is about not exalting any one of us as being in any way more normative than another. Too much of that has already been done in recent history to fracture our fragile relationship that we ought to exercise utmost care in how we see and deal with these things.

The history that you refer to of course belongs to more than just Amharas and Tigrayans. It is a significant part of the history of Oromos, Gurages, Agews and many others. But the history that you refer to is neither the only, nor the majority of the rich history that exists to make up the Ethiopia we see today. It is important we recognize this and present an accurate portrayal of ourselves that is true to our history, true to our values, and true to our identities. We can’t do this if we’re not being equitable in the stories we write, in the history we tell, and yes, even in the monuments we build.

None of this should be controversial.

You’ve also highlighted the part that says ‘democracy is a new thing to Ethiopia’. Isn’t it? Or should we say that since the Borena Oromo use the Geda system (at best an imperfect electoral system) to elect their leaders, then the system used by this small group somehow represents the entirety of the Ethiopian people. Obviously, Ethiopians do not understand the basic concepts of democracy, and we see the result of that daily. Everybody in Ethiopia is struggling with the idea of democracy, including the Oromos. We do not see the Oromia region behaving any differently when it comes to this.

Oh how quickly you toss out all sensibility when you’re on the opposing end of an issue. 

Gotta love the irony.

So how do you propose I shed this singular view that you claim I have? For example, which group should I assign the negarit to? For that matter, which group should i assign the geda system to? Wouldn’t it be simpler if we assigned the whole thing to our common Ethiopian ancestry? This whole thing got started after …… expressed some very obtuse views on Ethiopia. His response actually borders on racism, which I’m sad to say is a common view held by some oromos in the US. I’m sorry, but i don’t buy this bullsh*t that the oromos are the oppressed class, and the amharas the oppressors, as ………. claims. The fact is that the life of the overwhelming majority of the amhara peasantry was, and still is, at least as miserable as that of the average oromo.

I waited until the back forth ends but now I want to say my part.

Regarding the racism remark, after the bk forth I guess to most part I don’t need to point out who has made not only a racist but also offensive remark in this particular discussion. I don’t understand how suggesting an oromo value to be included in the national monument, if one believe an oromos are Ethiopian anything like racism. Second I never suggest the drum thing is associated to any ethnic group, but to the fact that the drum has symbolic relationship to a feudal system. Third if you purpose is to dimension to satisfy your monologue that is up to you but if it is due to lack of information I suggest you read more about the gadaa system. Until it was defeated and dismantled by the feudal and monarchy philosophy it was the most Democratic system and has been in practice for a very long time.

I don’t believe the oromos and other nation and nationalities are represented in the current Ethiopian details and I am to proud of my identity just to accept it. That is why I can’t call myself with full confidence an Ethiopian , not out of racism or hate. If I call myself Ethiopian I have to write in ge’ze which I dont , I have to praise Menilke which I will never, I have to be stranger to democratic value which I am not , and so many other which has to do nothing with who I am.

And it was just a suggestion to include sth that truly represent around 50% of the nation and has a very symbolic meaning. It is not like I suggest to tear down the menelike monument or sth so relax and take a deep breath and think what you r against “the majority voice”

That is why I can’t call myself with full confidence an Ethiopian , not out of racism or hate. If I call myself Ethiopian I have to write in ge’ze which I dont , I have to praise Menilke which I will never, I have to be stranger to democratic value which I am not , and so many other which has to do nothing with who I am.

I’m sorry for you if you can’t consider yourself an Ethiopian. No one can really help you with that kind of situation. You either feel you’re part of an entity, or you don’t. Maybe it’s time for you to consider adopting another nationality.

I do not believe though that being Ethiopian means writing in geez or worshiping Menelik. You’re entitled to your own opinions when it comes to admiring past leaders. For example, i hate, hate, hate Mengistu Hailemariam. But that doesn’t mean I hate Ethiopia too. I respect some past leaders, and I despise others. But the basic fact here is that I consider myself an Ethiopian. This isn’t a title that someone gave me, or something that anyone can take away from me. When it comes to geez, the current rulers of Oromia region have decided to use latin. I doubt the process was democratic, but as long as the Oromos support it and like it, then it’s up to them. Somalis in Ethiopia also use the latin alphabet, if they say that geez does not let them use their language to the fullest, then it’s up to them too.

Regarding your little theory that all the Oromos had some sort of democratic
utopia going on before bad old Menelik wrecked it for them, then I guess you’re entitled to some day dreaming. If we want to focus on all the bad things that have happened in the past, then the Oromos have also caused their fair share of pain and destruction to the Keffa people, to the Sidamo, to the Amharas etc. at different times in the past. I don’t know if you know this, but the Yejju Oromo were part of the ruling elite in Gondar in the 18th and 19th century. The court language in Gondar was even oromiffa for a period in Gondar. Ethiopia’s history is much more complex than what you make it out to be. It’s not black and white.

That’s why I told you earlier to … just think a little deeper about the whole issue.

o how do you propose I shed this singular view that you claim I have? For example, which group should I assign the negarit to? For that matter, which group should i assign the geda system to? Wouldn’t it be simpler if we assigned the whole thing to our common Ethiopian ancestry? This whole thing got started after Teklu expressed some very obtuse views on Ethiopia. His response actually borders on racism, which I’m sad to say is a common view held by some oromos in the US. I’m sorry, but i don’t buy this bullsh*t that the oromos are the oppressed class, and the amharas the oppressors, as Teklu claims. The fact is that the life of the overwhelming majority of the amhara peasantry was, and still is, at least as miserable as that of the average oromo.

I’m not sure why you sound so defensive and irritable, but much of what you said has little relevance to the topic. I realize it is probably more convenient to wield a deconstructive ax at this caricatured version of my views and the views of others like me, rather than engaging the issue in good faith, but throwing around so much red herring does little to validate your point of view.

I don’t think the debate was ever over assigning the negarit to anyone. This notion that we should all embrace each other’s culture and take collective ownership may have some ostensible novelty to it, but it underneath it has often been a veiled attempt at dismissing an otherwise legitimate question about equity in preference for maintaining the status quo, because whether you can admit it or not, the status quo has an inherent bias.

And sure, anyone who thinks the average Amhara is any better off than the average Oromo is clearly misguided. But again, nobody is talking about that. History is not written by the average man.

Regarding your little theory that all the Oromos had some sort of democratic 
utopia going on before bad old Menelik wrecked it for them, then I guess you’re entitled to some day dreaming.

Talk about reductio ad absurdum. It’s funny, this is the third time you have attempted to mock and diminish the significance of this institution and its history on this very thread. Of course, we’re sure that’s just your way of showing your love and respect. As I’ve pointed out before, your attitude belies whatever collectivist artifice you seem so intent on selling. Had you been ingenuous about your evident lack of sensibility, then you could at least be given credit for candor. But what makes this talk of yours especially cheap is that not only are you flagrant in your bias, but you’re speciously pretentious about it.

I can’t think of a more amusing irony.

Not ones but repeatedly you try to say as if the democratic nature of the oromo social system is just my view, this simply puts you in the ignorant group sorry for using this word. But let me ask you once again if you could answer me. If you accept oromo as an Ethiopian, so what part of the suggestion to include the oromos historical and cultural symbol is ethnocentric or narrow nationalism or racist?

Once again my objection to the drum is not based on it’s association to any group but what it represent. My aspiration to build a genuine democratic nation and all inclusive that we all call proudly home negates that symbol. Your repeated suggestion to dig deep to accept your view is just annoying. I see from your comments u never engaged in a dialogue but just monologue . In a sense that u have no appetait to question ur thoughts but suggest others to do so, just try to see both side. If u could answer my question all this back forth wouldn’t be a waste of time and I might learn St just saying.

If you accept oromo as an Ethiopian, so what part of the suggestion to include the oromos historical and cultural symbol is ethnocentric or narrow nationalism or racist?

To answer your question, I’m married to an Oromo, so I ‘accept’ the oromo. All I’m trying to say is the Oromos are part and parcel of present day Ethiopia, but also of old Ethiopia, which you seem to boundlessly despise. There is no Ethiopia without the Oromos, they are the cement that hold the nation together. There is no other ethnic group in Ethiopia that has moved around and mixed with other groups as much as the oromos have. So all i’m saying is tone down the hatred, and turn up the love. I’ve never said that oromo cultural symbols should not be included in ethiopian structures. All i said is the drums are a good symbol for the new assembly building.

The thing that really amuses me with the diaspora oromo is the that they’ve created an alternate reality for themselves and keep blabbering on about how the oromo are a separate group, and how they’re special bla bla. The facts on the ground in Ethiopia are that no one really has time for this kind of bs, nor do they care for it. Everybody’s working hard to survive and get along. If people like Teklu and Hersh go to some place like Harar, or Dire Dawa, and spend a couple of years there, maybe you’ll understand the beauty of Ethiopia and its people, and the harmony in which the people live. I’ve said my part, have a good day.

This is why the oromo with no political intention calls u sidametti meaning “yemyalawote” keep ur monologue until tplf dismantle everything u dare and love. I tried my part but u failed to engage in a dialogue and I give up not out of hate to u and ur likes because I have too much important thing to do. Just one last advice keep ur labeling to urself.

To answer your question, I’m married to an Oromo, so I ‘accept’ the oromo. All I’m trying to say is the Oromos are part and parcel of present day Ethiopia, but also of old Ethiopia, which you seem to boundlessly despise. There is no Ethiopia without the Oromos, they are the cement that hold the nation together. There is no other ethnic group in Ethiopia that has moved around and mixed with other groups as much as the oromos have. So all i’m saying is tone down the hatred, and turn up the love. I’ve never said that oromo cultural symbols should not be included in ethiopian structures. All i said is the drums are a good symbol for the new assembly building.

Ur argument fails and use ur relationship to justify ur nonsense sorry I don’t believe u because if ur real married an oromo u wouldn’t try to diminish who ur wife is and the suggestion to put her symbol wouldn’t stir this much emotion.

I said my part kidus to u all!